It happened, almost

We are thankful today that we were not robbed last night, because I presume that was the motive…

Yesterday I was home with the girls for the evening without Brian.   He was invited to speak to a group of men from church about Christian education.  I expected him home shortly after 9 (since people generally don’t stay out after dark), but he was talking to the Pastor and did not get home until 10:30.  At 8:30 Rachel asked to go outside to move something she had left there.  I let her and relocked the doors.  At 9:15 the cat brought a lizard into the house in her mouth, so I opened the door to get them both outside!  I relocked the doors, but did not set the alarm.  Instead, I was soothing Rachel (who was upset about the lizard), and sending she and Rebekah back to bed after a series of unfortunate events.  For the first time since we have lived here I was home at night without Brian, the alarm was not set by 9pm, and the outside light Amy and Adrian (who live in the cottage) always turn on had been forgotten.

At 10:00 the cat had come back in, and was acting strange -she was almost attacking the back window acting like she wanted to go out.  I took her into the living room to put her out the window that is always left open for her, but instead she ran to that back window with her ears back.   I then heard what I thought was someone trying to open the back door.  I could hear the trellidoor rattling like someone was struggling to open it.    I thought like an American… “why is Brian trying to come in the back door?” and then “maybe Amy and Adrian are still up.”  Suddenly I realized that neither of those were likely, so I quickly turned on all the lights in the back of the house, ran to the bedroom area, locked the hall door (designed for this purpose), and set the alarm.   The noise stopped.

I won’t give you all the details about how I spent the next LONG 30 minutes before Brian came home, but I have talked to several people today to learn how I should handle this sort of situation in the future.  As it turns out, Adrian also heard the noise, but thought it was Brian locking the back door for the night.

This was clearly not a sophisticated criminal, but was it someone who had been watching the house?  Maybe saw Brian leave, or saw Rachel and I going in and out and hoped we had left the door unlocked?  Needless to say, we will all be extra cautious in coming days, but for now we are thankful that God protected us last night.

4 Responses to “It happened, almost”


  1. 1 Angela February 13, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    Ugh. How scary. I’m so glad you all are safe and thankful to Him for protecting you.

    On a lighter note, give that ferocious “guard” cat of yours a special “lizard” treat for us in appreciation of its efforts.

    Continuing to pray for you all.

  2. 2 Grammy February 17, 2009 at 7:20 pm

    Reading this made my blood run cold. We are so thankful that the Lord protected you. We pray for His protection for you daily, realizing that we just never know what you might be facing.

    We agree with Angela; give the kitty an extra special treat!
    Love, Mom & Dad

  3. 3 Kylie February 18, 2009 at 4:48 pm

    I just got back online and read your blog. How scary! I told Scott what happened and he said “no, she has to lock those things at all times. It has to become as routine as using the bathroom.” I thought leave it to Scott to bring it back to the bathroom! 🙂 Love you!

  4. 4 Deb Sweigart February 19, 2009 at 4:29 am

    So glad you are okay!! We’ll keep praying! I never thought cat’s had any use in life – glad to hear that God uses them, too!


Leave a Reply

